Go to whole of WA Government search

WA container deposit scheme

WA container deposit scheme

To improve WA’s litter performance and assist charities, community and sporting groups in their fundraising, the WA Government is introducing a container deposit scheme by mid-2018.

Premier's announcement on a container deposit scheme

Air Quality Fact Sheets

A series of Fact Sheets on air quality within Western Australia has recently been developed and released by the Department of Environment Regulation. The Fact Sheets provide information for the community on air quality monitoring that is undertaken by the Department in a number of regional centres and the Perth metropolitan region. The series includes an overarching Fact Sheet on air quality monitoring undertaken in Western Australia, and Fact Sheets on air quality in the Perth region; Albany; Bunbury; Busselton; Collie; and Geraldton.


Mining company fined for hypersaline discharges

Mincor Resource

Mincor Resources’ site: Dead vegetation as a result of the hypersaline discharge.

 A Goldfields mining operator has been fined $50,000 by the State Government’s environmental regulator, following two hypersaline water spills at a mine in Widgiemooltha last year.



Company fined for hypersaline discharge

Cliffs Asia Pacific Iron Ore

Cliffs Asia Pacific Iron Ore site: Dead vegetation as a result of the hypersaline discharge.

The State’s environmental regulator has fined Cliffs Asia Pacific Iron Ore Pty Ltd $25,000, after the company discharged hypersaline water near Southern Cross.



About DER

Our purpose is to advise on and implement strategies for a healthy environment, for all Western Australians.

Find out more »

Reporting pollution incidents

DER officers across the state investigate pollution incidents and work with other agencies to resolve them.

Reporting pollution »


Department of Environment Regulation
The Atrium, Level 4
168 St Georges Terrace.
P: +61 (08) 6467 5000
F: +61 (08) 6467 5562
E: info@der.wa.gov.au
W: www.der.wa.gov.au
Regional offices

Contact us »